Ranking methodology: How are universities ranked?

Very different ranking approaches

There are major differences in the ranking methodologies used. These differences can be seen in the definitions of what constitutes quality, in the criteria and indicators used to measure quality, in the measurement processes as well as in the presentation format. These differences result in very different ranking approaches. Consequently, the ranking results differ considerably from one ranking approach to another.

League tables are achieved by weighted indicators

Media rankings are designed to produce a league table in which each university is assigned a specific rank. Higher ranks indicate higher quality, lower ranks indicate lower quality. How is this achieved? It requires a specific definition of what constitutes quality in a university. On the basis of this definition, quality criteria and indicators are used to assess the universities. In order to calculate an overall score, each indicator has to be given a particular weight. Quality criteria, such as research impact or teaching quality in the case of THES, need to be measured by specific indicators like the number of citations per faculty in the Thompson Scientific Database or by the student/faculty ratio. The indicators in this case are given an equal weight of 20%. This approach then needs to be applied equally to all universities.

What is the problem with such an approach?

Ranking lists all use different definitions of university quality, different criteria and indicators to measure quality and different weightings for each indicator. For this reason, the ranking results are also very different. The ranking results cannot be explained in a sensible way without knowing what was measured and what the measurement process looks like. There is a major difference between using the number of university alumni who earned Nobel prizes as an education quality indicator (as the Shanghai ranking list does) and using the student/faculty ratio (as the THES ranking list does). And the results will look different if you give research output a weight of 20% (as the THES ranking list does) or 40% (as the Shanghai ranking list does). In addition, the definitions of quality and the measurements used are determined by ranking list organisers. In the case of media ranking lists, this means the media themselves. Often it is unclear why a particular definition was chosen, how well it is founded, by whom it was decided and how open and reflective the decision process was. And yet, such ranking lists have considerable influence when used to measure the quality of universities.

The type and quality of data used are also very different

The Shanghai ranking list uses objective data that can be measured quantitatively. For its part, the THES ranking list relies heavily on subjective evaluations by experts. How valid the latter are and how well they represent the institutions covered are important questions that are left unanswered. Quality is defined on the basis of subjective criteria applied to all universities, regardless of what their mission and goals may be. The results are then presented in a league table, suggesting a high degree of measurement precision. Such precision, however, cannot realistically be achieved and should not even be implied in the first place. The promise of measuring university quality adequately and precisely across very diverse institutions and for different stakeholders is simply unrealistic.

Basic principles for better approaches

There are ranking approaches that are better suited to meeting the demands of the task. They are based on a number of basic principles such as:

  • a ranking of individual disciplines or departments instead of whole institutions

  • a multidimensional concept of university quality instead of a “one-size-fits-all” approach, taking into account the diversity of academic institutions, missions and goals as well as language and cultural specifics

  • a separate measurement and presentation of single indicators - that may be ranked separately - allowing for individual preferences ("my-ranking") instead of an overall score

  • a presentation of ranking results in rank groups (top, middle, bottom groups) instead of league tables

 

In an effort to address the many methodological problems of ranking lists, an International Ranking Expert Group was founded in 2004 by the UNESCO European Centre for Higher Education (UNESCO-CEPES) and the Institute for Higher Education Policy in Washington, D.C. They produced a very useful set of quality principles and good practices, the Berlin Principles on Ranking of Higher Education Institutions : www.che.de/downloads­/Berlin_Principles_IREG_534.pdf

La méthodologie du classement: comment classe-t-on?

Une grande différence de méthodes

Les méthodes utilisées varient énormément. Les divergences portent sur la définition de la qualité, ses critères et indicateurs, les méthodes de mesure et le format de présentation; elles se traduisent par des formules très différentes de classement, qui produisent des résultats eux aussi très différents.

Les classements se fondent sur des indicateurs pondérés

Les médias cherchent à produire des tableaux de classement (league tables) assignant un rang à chaque université. Plus le rang est élevé, meilleure serait la qualité, et vice-versa. Comment parvient-on à ce résultat? On pose une définition de la qualité des universités, puis on mesure ses divers aspects à l’aide d’indicateurs. La note globale est obtenue par pondération du résultat relevé sur chaque indicateur. Chaque aspect de la qualité, comme l’impact de la recherche ou la qualité de l’enseignement pour le THES, est mesuré sur des critères spécifiques, comme l’indice de la banque de données Thompson Scientific, ou le taux d’encadrement des étudiants. Dans le cas qui nous occupe, ces indicateurs reçoivent le même facteur de pondération: 20 %. La grille est appliquée à l’identique à toutes les universités.

Quel est le problème de cette méthode?

Le problème de cette méthode, c’est que la définition de la qualité d’une université, les critères et les indicateurs utilisés pour la mesurer et la pondération adoptée varient énormément d’un classement à l’autre, et avec eux les résultats obtenus. On ne saurait les expliquer raisonnablement sans savoir ce qui a été mesuré, et comment cela a été fait. On obtient des écarts considérables si l’on prend pour indicateurs de la qualité de l’enseignement le nombre d’anciens étudiants ayant obtenu un prix Nobel (classement de Shanghai) ou le taux d’encadrement (classement THES); ou encore si l’on donne à la recherche une pondération de 20 % (THES) ou de 40 % (Shanghai). De plus, la définition de la qualité et les façons de la mesurer sont choisies par l’organisme effectuant le classement: pour les médias, l’organe de presse lui-même. On ne dispose pas d’explications très claires sur les raisons fondant l’adoption d’une définition, sa justification, l’origine de la décision, ni les bases d’ouverture et de réflexion sur lesquelles elle a été prise – bien que tout cela ait des répercussions majeures sur la mesure de la qualité des universités.

La nature et la qualité des données utilisées sont très variables

La nature et la qualité des données utilisées ont en outre peu en commun. Le classement de Shanghai repose sur des données objectives quantifiables. Le THES, quant à lui, recourt beaucoup à des évaluations subjectives d’experts; on ne sait pas avec transparence à quel point elles sont fiables et donnent une image fidèle des établissements – ce qui serait important. Cette définition subjective de la qualité est appliquée à toutes les universités, quels que soient leur mission et leurs buts; et les résultats sont ensuite présentés dans un tableau de scores comme s’ils étaient tirés de mesures précises. Or cette précision est concrètement hors d’atteinte, c’est-à-dire illusoire. Il n’est pas réaliste de se proposer de mesurer convenablement et précisément la qualité du travail universitaire, dans tous les établissements et à l’intention de toutes les parties prenantes concernées.  

Principes pour des méthodes plus satisfaisantes

Certaines méthodes de classement paraissent plus appropriées que d’autres. Elles se fondent sur un certain nombre de principes, comme:

  • le classement de disciplines ou de départements au lieu d’établissements entiers;
  • au lieu d’un patron unique, une approche multidimensionnelle de la qualité d’une université, tenant compte de la diversité des formes institutionnelles, des missions et des buts, ainsi que de la langue et des particularités de l’établissement;
  • une présentation distincte par indicateur, chacun faisant l’objet de mesures séparées, ce qui permet à l’utilisateur de personnaliser le classement en fonction de ses besoins plutôt que de s’en remettre à une note globale;
  • le classement en groupes (peloton de tête, médian, de queue) plutôt qu’en liste séquentielle.

La multiplicité des problèmes méthodologiques que pose le classement a conduit le Centre européen de l’UNESCO pour l’enseignement supérieur (CEPES) et le Institute for Higher Education Policy de Washington (IHEP) à créer en 2004 le Groupe d’experts de classement international (International Ranking Expert Group), qui a produit un ensemble de principes de qualité et de bonnes pratiques: les principes de Berlin pour le classement des établissements d’enseignement supérieur ( Berlin Principles on Ranking of Higher Education Institutions, www.che.de/downloads­/Berlin_Principles_IREG_534.pdf).